Chopin, Rachmaninoff et al. / Richter – Reviewed in 2011

More of the music of Frederic Chopin (1810-1849) 

Chopin, Rachmaninoff et al. / Richter 


A distinguished member of the Better Records Orchestral Music Hall of Fame

This collection of WONDERFUL solo piano works, here performed by one of our favorite pianists. Sviatoslav Richter, has SUPERB Living Stereo sound, earning a Super Hot Stamper sonic grade on side one. On this White Dog original pressing the piano is present and clear, with no smear whatsoever. Although the sound is big and rich, without more weight to the piano — the kind you rarely hear outside of a live event — we could not award the full Three Pluses. In practically every other way the sound was Hard To Fault (HTF). 

With a grade of A+ to A++, side two was nearly as good. It had all the qualities of side one, as well as the lack of weight, but it did lack a bit of the presence we heard on the first side, perhaps a minor quibble, especially for those who like more of a concert hall perspective.

Both sides are dynamic and clear. The music as well as the performances are superb throughout as well. Highly recommended.


Side One

Chopin – Scherzo No. 4 E
Ravel – La Vallee des Cloches
Ravel – Jeux D’Eau

Side Two

Rachmaninoff – Three Preludes:
In F-Sharp Minor 
In A
In B Minor
Prokofieff – Gavotte
Prokofieff – Visions Fugitives Nos. 6, 8, 9, 15, 18